Holidays Part 1

So I’m on holiday again as I mentioned in my last post. This break I’m travelling through Central Europe. I started my adventures with a weekend with Meena in Germany then on to Prague in Czech Republic, Krakow in Poland, Budapest in Hungary, Bratislava in Slovakia and Vienna in Austria, phew! This update covers Germany, Czech Republic and Poland with the rest to come in a later post.

In Germany we saw Mainz the town where Meena lives with lies on one of the most beautiful parts of the Rhine and the Frankfurt skyline by night.

I took a night train via Cologne (quickly ran outside the train station to see the cathedral) to Prague. In Prague I had two days of intense sightseeing and had a great time in my hostel, it was perfect. Prague was so beautiful.

Onto Krakow where I had a few more days so some time to relax a little. Krakow is really a great city and I enjoyed all the sights as well as drinking some beer. It wasn’t all relaxation and beer drinking however, I spent a day at Auschwitz, the site of some pretty sad history in this part of Europe. It was incredibly sad to see the conditions those people were subjected to and going inside the gas chambers was a pretty intense experience. They also had photos of some of those murdered on display with their date of birth, occupation, date they entered the camp and date of death. I definitely shed a few tears.

The other things I got up to in Krakow were plenty of walking (and walking tours). I visited the Jewish Quarter and the Old Town and checked out a few museums, the National Museum, Schindler’s Factory and the Contemporary Art Museum. I also went to see the tombs of some Polish Kings and Queens at the Castle Cathedral and went to John Paul II (a former pope) museum to see some of his robes and chair as he was Polish.

More next week

Amanda xx

Leave a Reply

