The end… or maybe not?

I flew to Berlin from Paris and met up with Yoshi and his friends, I was staying with them in Mitte. Three excellent days were spent eating, drinking and a little sightseeing. We went to a club that I quite liked called Griessmühle which was right by a canal and we stayed out until the sun came up. Otherwise I ticked off all the regular tourist stuff like the Brandenburg gate, Reichstag Building, Holocaust memorial, check point Charlie and the still remaining section of the Berlin Wall called the East Side Gallery.Next stop and I was on to Amsterdam. This was supposed to be the end of my trip… BUT thanks to my work for stepping in and asking me to continue the adventure with a conference in Budapest three weeks later. (More on what I did with my extra three weeks soon).

Berlin Wall


I met up with Lynsey, an ex-colleague from NZ and we drank plenty of beer then went to the Rijksmuseum the next day to see all the Rembrandts and Vermeers. Unfortunately after visiting the Gallery of Honour, our next stop was to Dutch A&E, Lynsey having missed a step and badly crunching her foot. Luckily they were fast and we were on our way pretty quick. 

The Berghof, Amsterdam

Amsterdam


For the rest of my time I explored the Jordaan area and Nine streets, the Begijnhof, visited the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum, FOAM (photography art gallery), hired a bicycle and explored Vondelpark, ate frites and watched some people pulling a lost bicycle out of a canal. I had a nice time once I had escaped any tourists.

Corfu


I then flew to Corfu for four days of getting tanned, food poisoning and losing my necklace. The beach was lovely and the water perfect.

Since I have a lot to say about my next location, I’ll be devoting an entire post to it! It’ll be coming your way next week.

Until next time,

Amanda xx

Leave a Reply

